Dieting is Making Me Fat

16 Apr

It’s true.  The more I diet, the more weight I gain.  I reached my highest weight only after I had been on the diet train for years.  It doesn’t seem to make sense, but a lot of evidence backs me up.  Even your body’s hormones work against you when dieting.  So just to be clear for those folks who will tell me I shouldn’t diet, I should just make a lifestyle change, I’m not talking about fad diets here.  Quite frankly I’ve never been on a fad diet, unless you count the two days I tried Atkins in college.  Every time I’ve tried to lose weight, I take the time to examine my numbers and count calories, carbs, protein or points.  I tell myself that no food is off limits as long as it fits in my points/calorie range.  I’ve tried Weight Watchers as well as a doctor prescribed lower carb/high protein diet.  But every time I do this, I get obsessed with the scale and frustrated if it isn’t moving quickly enough.  And even if it is moving quickly, I end up feeling deprived or just plain aggravated that I have to count and measure everything.  And that’s when the bingeing starts.  I never binged before I dieted.  But since then food means something entirely different than it did before dieting.  I have the luxury of remembering what life was like in high school and my early years of college before dieting set in.  Back then I ate like a normal person.  Sure I overate sometimes.  But usually I ate when I was hungry and stopped when I was full.  I was higher in weight than the weight charts said I should have been, but that was mostly because I ate too much fast food with friends.  

So what’s my solution?  I’m going back to normal eating.  I’m putting away the scale, examining my relationship with food, eating when hungry and stopping just before full.  I don’t usually have a problem identifying hunger because my stomach actually growls when I’m hungry.  I will have to pay close attention to when I am approaching full though.  This is not about weight loss.  This is about getting back my health and sanity.  So this journey is changing.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

